On December 31, 2012, two of the eight members of the current PSA Governing Board -- Robert Batterman and Alan Richardson -- will complete their terms, and PSA President-Elect Helen Longino will succeed James Woodward as PSA President. In its 2012 election the PSA will elect two members of its Governing Board, each of whom will serve a four-year term beginning January 1, 2013, and a President-Elect, who will serve a two-year term as PSA President beginning January 1, 2015.

Per the By-Laws of the Philosophy of Science Association (Art. IV, §§6-7) nominations to run for the Governing Board and the Presidency of the PSA may be made by any fifteen full members of the PSA. Accordingly the PSA Nominating Committee (Hanne Andersen, Kathleen Okruhlik, and P. Kyle Stanford (chair)) solicits nominations from the PSA membership for both the Governing Board and the Presidency of the PSA. Nominations should be submitted by e-mail to P. Kyle Stanford. Nominations for either office from any fifteen Full members of the PSA will appear on the ballot of the 2012 PSA Election provided they are received by November 8, 2012.

PSA members are reminded that only Full members of the PSA are eligible to run for PSA office and nominate candidates for PSA office, and only full and retired PSA members may vote in PSA elections. In addition, PSA members are reminded that past Presidents of the PSA may not serve a second term as PSA President and that Governing Board members may not serve two consecutive terms, with the following exception: by prior agreement with the PSA Governing Board, Robert Batterman and Alan Richardson, who volunteered to serve two-year terms on the PSA Governing Board in order to facilitate the recent transition to four-year terms, will be offered a place on the ballot for the Governing Board for the 2012 PSA Election, to run for a full (four-year) term.