Carl Gustav Hempel (1905-1997)

The Hempel Award


Recognizing Lifetime

Scholarly Achievement 

in the Philosophy of Science


Nominations may now be made for the Hempel Award, a biennial award recognizing lifetime scholarly achievement in the philosophy of science. The Hempel Award is named in honor of Carl Gustav Hempel (1905-1997), one of the twentieth century’s leading philosophers of science and an active PSA member for over fifty years. The award will be presented prior to the PSA Presidential Address at PSA 2014 in Chicago, Illinois, November 6-8, 2014.

The Prize Committee for the Hempel Award will consist of the current PSA Governing Board or its designated subcommittee. Nominations for the Hempel Award should include a CV and between three and five letters of support; the latter should address the nominee’s scholarly achievements, construed broadly to include not only the specific research of the nominee but also the nominee's larger impact on the scholarly community of philosophers of science (including training and mentorship, public outreach, professional work for the Philosophy of Science Association, and other community-building activities). Self-nominations will be accepted. Nominees and nominators should be members of the Philosophy of Science Association. 

Nominations for the Hempel Award should be postmarked no later than June 5, 2014 and sent to:

Jessica Pfeifer, PSA Treasurer and Executive Secretary
Department of Philosophy
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
1000 Hilltop Circle
Baltimore, MD   21250

Nominations cannot be accepted electronically. Questions about the Hempel Award may be directed to Jessica Pfeifer at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Members who wish to renominate a candidate from the previous round can send a note to Executive Secretary Jessica Pfeifer so indicating.  No additional materials will be required, but the nominator may add to the file should she or he so wish. Nominees and nominators are requested to bear in mind that, since this is a new prize, it is likely that there were and will be a number of highly qualified nominees.