On behalf of the Governing Board of the Philosophy of Science Association, it is my pleasure to announce the results of the 2013 PSA Election.

Anjan Chakravartty of the University of Notre Dame and Wendy S. Parker ofDurham University and Ohio University havebeen elected to the Governing Board for the PSA, each to serve a four year term ending 12/31/2017.The Officers of the PSA congratulate and welcome Professors Chakravartty and Parker to the PSA Governing Board and offer their gratitude to all the candidates who ran for election to the PSA Governing Board. The Officers also express their  appreciation to Stephan Hartmann (LMU Munich) and Roberta Millstein (University of California, Davis), who are stepping down from the Governing Board after completing their four year terms. The full list of the Governing Board members can be found at http://philsci.org/about-the-psa/governance.

Alisa Bokulich of Boston University, Katherine Brading of the University of Notre Dame, and Hasok Chang of the University of Cambridge have been elected to the PSA Nominating Committee, each to serve a two year term ending 12/31/2015. Again, the Officers congratulate and welcome Professors Bokulich, Brading, and Chang to the PSA Nominating Committee, thank all those who ran for election to the PSA Nominating Committee, and thank the out-going PSA Nominating Committee, consisting of Hanne Andersen (Aarhus University), Kathleen Okruhlik (University of Western Ontario), and, as chair, P. Kyle Stanford (University of California, Irvine). In accord with PSA By-Laws, the chair of the in-coming PSA Nominating Committee will be selected by the PSA President, Helen Longino.

The measure to amend the PSA By-Laws, to change the date by which 15 members of the PSA may submit nominations to the Executive Secretary for President, Governing Board, and Nominating Committee from November 1 to September 15, passed by a vote of 175 (98.87%) to 2 (1.13%). The newly revised By-Laws can be found at http://philsci.org/about-the-psa/bylaws-of-the-association.

The 2013 PSA Election was conducted electronically by the History of Science Society, under the supervision of Jay Malone. PSA members were solicited to vote via email. Of 678 voters eligible to vote in the 2011 PSA election, 191 (28.17%) cast votes. The absolute number of voters in the 2013 election decreased 1.5% over the absolute number of voters in the 2012 election. Turnout in 2013 decreased 8.06 percentage points as compared to 2012. These substantial decreases may be attributable in part to a recent drop in PSA membership, or the fact that this is an odd-year (and thus a non-presidential) election.

Finally, I thank those Full PSA members who took the time to vote in this election. Once again, the PSA Election ran smoothly due in large part to the experience and dedication of Jay Malone and his staff at the History of Science Society, especially Greg Macklem. If you are a Full Member of the PSA and you encountered problems in voting electronically, or if you have any other comments, questions, or concerns about the 2013 PSA Election, please contact me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..



Jessica Pfeifer

Executive Secretary and Treasurer
Philosophy of Science Association