On behalf of the Governing Board of the Philosophy of Science Association, it is my pleasure to announce the results of the 2016 PSA Election. Thanks to all those who voted. We had an historic turnout of 59.4%.

Alison Wylie of the University of Washington has been elected President of the PSA. Professor Wylie will serve a two-year term (from January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2018) as Vice-President and President-Elect of the PSA, after which she will serve a two-year term (January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2020) as President of the Association, delivering the PSA Presidential Address at PSA2020, followed by a 2 year term as Past President of the PSA.

Megan Delehanty of the University of Calgary and Edouard Machery of the University of Pittsburgh have been elected to the Governing Board of the PSA. Each will serve a four-year term (1/1/2017-12/31/2020).

The PSA Governing Board, as of January 1, 2017, will be comprised of:



Anjan Chakravartty (University of Notre Dame)


Megan Delehanty (University of Calgary)


Peter Godfrey-Smith (CUNY Graduate Center and University of Sydney)


Edouard Machery (University of Pittsburgh)


Wendy S. Parker (Durham University, UK)


Laura Ruetsche (University of Michigan)


Janet D. Stemwedel (San José State University)


Michael Weisberg (University of Pennsylvania)


The Officers of the PSA welcome and congratulate Professor Wylie on her election to the Presidency of the PSA and Professors Delehanty and Machery on their election to the PSA Governing Board, and offer their gratitude to all the candidates who ran for election.

At the end of this year, Helen Longino (Stanford University), Past President of the PSA, Rachel Ankeny (University of Adelaide), and Alan Richardson (University of British Columbia) will be completing their terms on the Governing Board.  The Officers offer deep appreciation and thanks to all three for their devoted service to the PSA.

The Officers of the PSA also thank the Nominating Committee, comprised of Mathias Frisch as Chair (Leibniz Universität Hannover), Holly Andersen(Simon Fraser University), and Anya Plutynski (Washington University in St. Louis) and the PSA Membership for nominating and assembling a stellar ballot.

The 2016 PSA Election was conducted electronically using www.simplyvoting.com. PSA members were solicited to vote via email. Of 690 members eligible to vote in the 2016 PSA election, 410 (59.4%) cast votes. The absolute number of voters in the 2016 election increased 18.5% over the absolute number of voters in the 2015 election. Turnout in 2016 increased 8.14% as compared to 2015.

Finally, I thank those Full and Retired PSA members who took the time to vote in this election. Thank you for helping to shape the future of the PSA! If you are a Full or Retired Member of the PSA and you encountered problems in voting electronically, or if you have any other comments, questions, or concerns about the 2016 PSA Election, please contact me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Jessica Pfeifer
Executive Director
Philosophy of Science Association