Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Medal and Lecture

Michela MassimiThe 2017 Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Medal is awarded to Professor Michela Massimi, PSA member and former Governing Board Member, for her interdisciplinary interests in and communication of modern philosophy and science: particularly in relation to physics, and the thinking of Newton, Kant and Pauli. 

Professor Massimi will be presented with a medal of silver gilt, and a gift of £2,000 as part of her prize lecture to be given in Spring 2018.

The award

The Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Medal and Lecture is given for excellence in a subject relating to the history of science, philosophy of science or the social function of science.

The Wilkins, Bernal and Medawar lectures were originally delivered as three separate lectures, each given triennially. Since 2007, they have been combined under the one title of the Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Lecture, and have been given annually.

The subject matter for the lecture is some aspect of the social function of science, as per the Bernal Lecture Fund endowed by John Desmond Bernal FRS, the philosophy of science as per the Medawar Lecture endowed by Peter Medawar FRS, and the history of science in recognition of John Wilkins FRS, the first Secretary of the Society.

The next round of nominations opens in November 2017.

Past winners

Professor Jon Agar, Professor of Science and Technology Studies, University College London, gave the 2016 Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Lecture with the talk 'The curious history of curiosity-driven research'

Professor Hasok Chang, Hans Rausing Professor of History and Philosophy of Science at the University of Cambridge, gave the 2015 Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Lecture with the talk 'Who cares about the history of science?'

Dr Roger Highfield, Director of External Affairs at the Science Museum Group, gave the 2012 Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Lecture with the talk 'Heroes of Science'.
See full list of all past winners of the Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Lecture.